A Meeting Of Towers In The Picturesque town Of The Greats

I’m the poet

Laureate 

And the mayor

Of the town 

Of heartbreak

***

Quite prolific

And regularly published

In the most prestigious 

Literary magazines

***

Though

People here 

stopped

Reading print media

And gave up

On the written word

And the streets are

Empty

And the houses

Liveless

But 

There is a castle 

At the end

Of the only boulevard

Of the town

And it’s atop a hill

And magnificent

And dignified

And has one window lit

By the big tower 

Towards the right

And in the room,

The last poetry lover 

Lives.

***

She doesn’t eat

Or drink

Or sleep

***

She only reads poetry

And looks out the window

To reflect

***

She’s the perfect reader

***

And though

People love my poetry

Overseas

Where I’m celebrated

For my genius word

Combinations

And conceptual

Musings

***

The circulation

Being somewhere in the 

Teen millions

***

When I’m in my room

Towards the left

Of the tower

Of my castle

I stay up late at night

Often

Struggling

With addressing

My global audience

And frequently find 

Myself

Writing only for her

Leave a Reply

