Amateur Hour At The Philosophy Club

The assumption always was

That I am a kind person

Because I knew how people felt

A lot of the time

***

But then I learned that 

I am very observant

So I knew how people felt

Because I could see it

***

So the assumption then became

That I am smart

Because the lack of

Obliviousness

Is not particularly a virtue 

***

But, for a long time

I thought

I wans’t kind 

Because my ability to be 

Indifferent sometimes

Is staggering

***

So the assumption was then

That I’m a complicated person

Which in this case

Is code for

Asshole

***

Though

It’s hardly by choice

But you do see the dangers of 

Blaming society

To be a product of it

So here we shall move on

And continue assuming responsibility and making assumptions

***

The result of that 

Is that

Now the assumption is that I am 

A sensible person

***

However, I’d really like to be kind

And the question here becomes

Not whether or not

One can be kind

Or Unkind,

***

The question here becomes,

Can one be kind 

And unkind

Within the same exact person?

***

I’ll actually leave that to the 

Philosophers to ponder

Because

I’d rather write poetry

Than try to assess my values

As a human being

***

Not like there is anything I can do 

About that anyway.

Leave a Reply

